Reappointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (April 30) announced that Mr Chan Chakming and Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee have been reappointed by the Chief Executive as members of the LRC for a second three-year term with effect from May 1, 2024.

Mr Chan has been the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong since 2021 and was a member of the LRC's Outcome Related Fee Structures for Arbitration Sub-committee (the Report of which was published in December 2021). The LRC believes that his professional standing and experience in the legal field will further strengthen the LRC's role in proposing law reforms.

Mrs Leung is a current member of the Executive Council. She was also a former Global Co-Head of Commercial Banking of the HSBC Group and a former Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive of Hang Seng Bank Limited. Her strong business acumen and abundant public service experience will continue to enable her to provide valuable insights into the LRC's work.

With these latest appointments, the LRC comprises the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman) Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex officio member) Law Draftsman (ex officio member) Mr Justice Johnson Lam Man-hon Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC Ms May Chan Suk-mei Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wing-kum Mr Chan Chak-ming Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee Professor Alexander Loke Mr Michael Jackson

Ends/Tuesday, April 30, 2024